Events

The Intersection of Poverty and the Environment (Webcast)


Webcast on April 21, 2012

On April 21, the Episcopal Church will sponsor a forum on a critical topic: “The Intersection of Poverty and the Environment.” Originating from St. Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral in Salt Lake City, UT, the two-hour ecumenical forum will be live webcast beginning at 10 am Mountain (9 am Pacific, 11 Central, noon Eastern).

Moderated by Kim Lawton of PBS’s Religion and Ethics NewsWeekly, featured speaker at the forum will be Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori, who was an oceanographer prior to ordination and is well-versed in environmental matters.

Bonnie Anderson, author of Spirituality and the Earth: Exploring Connections and Adjunct Lecturer at the University of Michigan’s School of Natural Resources, will be a key panel member along with experts in the fields of the environment and poverty, as well as ecumenical representatives.

The forum will feature speakers, videos, and thought-provoking discussion. Viewers will be able to submit questions to the participants during the live webcast.

The forum is ideal for group watching and discussion, or on demand viewing for Earth Day observations as well as Sunday School, discussions groups, community gatherings, and other get-togethers.

The event leads the way in implementing the recommendations of the Environment and Climate Change Committee of the President’s Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships to hold regional conferences on engaging faith and community groups in environmental stewardship.

For more info contact: Neva Rae Fox, Public Affairs Officer, The Episcopal Church, (JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) , 212-716-6080 Mobile: 917-478-5659